Distinguished Alumni Award

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given annually to honour living alumni who have distinguished themselves in one or more of the following areas: 

  • Professional and Personal Achievement: by demonstrating exemplary leadership and accomplishment in their professional and personal life. 
  • Academic Achievement: through lifelong learning or outstanding contributions towards enhancing their profession. 
  • Public Service Achievements: exemplary community and public service endeavours that bring credit to the community, Red Deer Polytechnic or the nominee’s profession. 

This award is presented at the annual Red Deer Polytechnic Community Awards Dinner. 

Alumni Relations is continually seeking nominations for this annual award. The annual deadline for nominations is August 15 of each year.


The Candidate must fit the criteria of a “General Member” according to the Red Deer Polytechnic Alumni Association Bylaws: 

Article 3.1 General Membership shall be available to persons previously registered as students at Red Deer College/Polytechnic who paid the prescribed College/Polytechnic registration fee and successfully: a) received a parchment, or b) completed a minimum of 30 credits, or c) completed one period of apprenticeship technical training. 


Past recipients

2021 - Cory Kaun, Welding Apprenticeship

2020 - Chris Rolida, Electrical Engineering Technology

2019 - Scott Robinson, Phys Ed Diploma, 1988

2018 - Sharilee Fossum, Business Admin, 1979

2017 - Rod Kennedy, Bachelor of Commerce, 1974

2016 - Andrew Kooman, Bachelor of Arts, 2003

2016 - Kathryn McKenzie, Bachelor of Ed, 2004

2015 - Sheila Musgrove, Legal Assistant Diploma, 1998

2014 - Randy Harper, Bachelor of Commerce, 1969

2013 - Dr. Lynne Paradis, PhD Curriculum/Masters of Education in Leadership, B.Ed 1975, University Transfer

2012 - Dr. Janet Welch, Legal Assistant Program 1983, University Transfer B.Ed 1988, PhD Educational Leadership/Technology

2011 - Peter Weddell, University Transfer Diploma 1965, Retired - RCMP Bylaw Officer for Red Deer

2010 - Dr. Duane Smethurst, University Transfer, Bachelor of Science, Pre-Chiropractic 1980, Doctor of Chiropractic, Peak Chiropractic

2009 - Jay Janzen, University Transfer, Bachelor of Arts 1990, Director of Public Affairs for the Canadian Army

2008 - Bryan Wilson, University Transfer, Bachelor of Arts 1974, Red Deer Realtor, President of the Red Deer Hospice Society

2007 - Tim Gitzel, University Transfer Diploma, Bachelor of Arts General 1985, President and CEO for Cameco

2006 - Melody Davidson, University Transfer Diploma, Physical Education 1984, General Manager and Head Coach of Canada\'s Women\'s High Performance Program, Hockey Canada

2005 - Anthony (Tony) Kulbisky, University Transfer Diploma, Recreation Administration 1985, CAO for the Town of Devon

2004 - Doug Sandall, Business Administration Diploma 1972, Senior Partner, BDO Dunwoody LLP Chartered Accountants

2003 - Guy Pelletier, Business Administration Diploma 1987, General Manager, Melcor Developments - Red Deer

2002 - Keith Hansen, University Transfer Diploma, Recreation Administration 1987, Athletics Director, Kinesiology and Sport Studies Instructor at RDC

2001 - Dr. Sandy Murray, University Transfer Diploma,  Science 1971, Family Physician

2000 - Rebecca Luce-Kapler, University Transfer Diploma,  Education 1973, Professor, Faculty of Education at Queen's University

1999 - Janice Causgrove-Dunn, University Transfer Diploma, Physical Education 1980, Associate Dean Undergraduate Programs, Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation, University of Alberta

1998 - Diana Anderson, Art and Design Diploma 1974, Former Exhibits Coordinator, Normandeau Cultural and Natural History Society

1997 - Michael Dawe, University Transfer Diploma, Bachelor of Arts 1975, Archivist, City of Red Deer